From the direct messages screen, people you follow or have previously chatted with can now see when you were last using Instagram.The new “Show Activity Status” option is enabled by default inside of Instagram’s settings.
Only people you follow or have previously DM’d will see how many minutes or hours ago you were scrolling through your feed.
Go into the app’s “Settings” menu.
– Scroll to “Show Activity Status” in the menu.
– Turn the toggle switch to “Off”