Instagram has now introduced notifications if a friend takes a screenshot of your Direct Messages (DM). The notifications only appear for screenshots taken of the new disappearing messages and will not be appearing if you take a snap of a public post.
Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or taken a screenshot,” Instagram said in a blog post. If you are sending a disappearing message (for any reason), Instagram has your back in case your friend wants to keep them for future reference.
Instagram introduced ‘disappearing photos and videos’ to the app earlier this week, which is another copy of a feature that was first seen on Snapchat. The feature can be used by swiping right into the camera to capture, then tapping the arrow button to send it privately to a single user or as a group.
Instagram has also introduced a new Live video feature to the app. To make a live video, a user needs to swipe right from their feed and tap on the “Start Live Video” button. Users can share a live video for up to an hour, and can pin a comment on it. When you go live, your friends will be notified.